Self-expression in bathrooms

I love graffiti and wall poetry and the intentional defacement of property. Blogging is another form of defacement. I deface you as you read this.

Bathroom poetry from Champs Action Bar, Grahamstown

My kiss is bitter

poison drips

from my fingertips

don’t look…

my eyes burn

and my body is covered

with the scars

of a thousand accidental glances

There is nothing greater

than love without honesty

because only then

can you be whoever you want

 

 

“look at the stars”

You told me.

And I looked…

but my mind

was on the pressure

of your hand in mine.

More beautiful than any other flame

a million miles away

and un-touchable

I didn’t know

that you could be so distant

So now,

When you tell me

to look at the stars,

I look

instead

at you

looking

at the stars

and not at me.

 

I want to add my own poetry to someone’s bathroom, one day.

2 thoughts on “Self-expression in bathrooms

  1. bernie says:

    I am so going to try my hand at bathroom poetry! I’m carrying a marker with me wherever I go now…It has to be done somewhere truly uncared for and filthy (where they’re not likely to scrub it off), maybe UCT 🙂

  2. La says:

    The ‘looking at the stars’ is my favourite poem, and i have been asking my friends from Gtown if they remember it! then i decided to google for it last night and found it here! Thank you so much for documenting these scribbles! You did what i promised myself every drunken night in Champs, and memory does not work as well the next morning when i though i had memorised it perfectly in my drunken haze 🙂

Leave a comment